灵感/趋势

带有氛围的一面

十月2020 /彼得·斯托克

外卖如何使忠实的消费者与品牌保持联系。

毫不羞耻或遗憾的是,我分享了我参考唱片专辑,衬里音符以及它们附带的赃物时的年龄。除了音乐,这些都是与您喜欢的乐队建立联系并成为其一部分的一种方式。他们只是一窥过程,生活方式,或者只是一开始就引起您注意的炒作。 

我记得乔·杰克逊(Jack Jackson)的“ Look Sharp”唱片带有一个迷你别针,并且唱片本身小于标准的形状和大小。我记得我在卡本代尔(Carbondale)拜访一位朋友时,给我姐姐买了埃尔维斯·科斯特洛(Elvis Costello)的《新阿姆斯特丹》的唱片。整个乙烯基是郁金香。显然,这些细节脱颖而出,或者几十年后我不会记得它们。

如今,您可以下载音乐,提取YouTube视频,并用Google搜索自己喜欢的乐队,但是要想与他人共享触觉却很难。随着时间的流逝,人们很容易忘记这一发现。很容易忘记您第一次拥有一张专辑重复一周时的感觉。

我对酒吧和餐馆有同样的感觉。充满情感和灵感,在2020年,他们感觉就像在消耗音乐。它被收集但没有触觉。它是基于内存的。走进您最喜欢的酒吧或餐厅的感觉在一个月前变得越来越暗淡。氛围-人们,气味,主人创造,策划,烹饪和服务的意图-受时间和环境的影响而变得迟钝。 

掩盖自己并保持距离以确保彼此安全,这就是我们现在必须保持的状态。对于餐馆老板和厨师来说,外卖,外卖和外送方法一直是尝试维持业务并使其通过这种大流行的一种方法。对于酒吧所有者而言,在许多州,由于安全限制而限制了酒吧的运营能力,这甚至更加困难。

可以说,酒吧和餐厅不仅仅是其食品和饮料。这是一种极富情感的体验,是感官元素的集合,这些感官元素汇聚在一起,以多种形式创造愉悦感,这使我获得了新的包装,并将品牌忠诚主义者与他们最喜欢的酒吧和餐厅所喜爱并记住的事物联系在一起。

在此示例中,我将选择一个本地收藏夹作为我的缪斯: 甘斯堡 是西雅图格林伍德附近的一家当地法国小酒馆。它以Serge Gainsbourg的名字命名,尽管我从未就品牌的起源故事采访过所有者,但我对品牌的含义已经形成了看法-消费者如何采用品牌并变得忠诚。 “我喜欢;我就是那样……” 

因此,在大流行期间,您可以从盖恩斯堡订购外卖,鸡尾酒套,甚至瓶装葡萄酒。这是一个晚上的美好回忆,但并没有持续。当食物用完而瓶子空了时,体验就结束了,您将回到记忆中,回想起下一个订单。 

这是一个很小的舒适空间,虽然不是完美的,但是以一种可爱的方式。酒吧后面的烹饪线。鸡尾酒具有创造力,可搭配不匹配的玻璃器皿使用。音乐在背景中轻松播放,并补充了投影在远处墙壁上的黑白电影的静音效果。周围的环境和顾客(总之,比以往任何时候都更凉爽和更富有灵魂)创造了一种吸引力,使我的每次访问都更加引人入胜。

所有这些因素共同形成了丰富的感官体验,似乎无法复制,尤其是在自己的家中。那么,如果您是Gainsbourg,如何打包这种体验,并在资金紧缺且利润微薄时将其发送出去?

我的回答是,您可以在星期五晚上拿到的书包中添加不完整的空间和古铜色以及音乐和电影的感官提示。一张二手的1960年代法国明信片,上面盖有Gainsbourg的电话和订购信息。指向今晚播放列表的链接,该列表已打印并随附在您的包中。新旧库存的鸡尾酒搅动。贴纸,剪裁文章,意想不到的文化惊喜都变成了触觉提醒,提醒您品牌的感觉。不贵的东西。周到的东西。想象一下您的客户在获得现场体验时的感受。

酒吧也是如此。 海妖酒吧和酒廊 西雅图大学区(University of Seattle)是一个以朋克摇滚表演和酒吧票价而闻名的场馆,但是要再次出现现场音乐,还需要很多年。如果拉猪肉三明治要随身携带传单,45张纸,贴纸,赃物或多年来收集的原始图纸或照片怎么办?丰富体验的一种方式,即在这种大流行中缺少客户的氛围。

这些建议和示例故意不包括餐具,蜡烛或餐桌布等物品,因为谁有钱立即将这些物品添加到订单中?这不是重点。那些衬纸笔记,照片夹克和相册中的一些小东西没有任何实际的货架价值。他们具有很高的情感和回忆价值。他们给了我们音乐的加入和参与的证据。

通过包含一些与难忘的食物和饮料一起的“生活方式”,我们使忠实的消费者更容易记住这种氛围,并期待他们有一天能再次在现场体验到这种氛围。

——————

对如何保持消费者与品牌联系感兴趣? 与Peter及其团队联络 hello@mg2.com.

Inspiration / Trends

Comes With A Side Of Vibe

October 2020 / By Peter Stocker

How takeout can keep loyal consumers connected to the brand.

It is without shame or regret that I share just how old I am when I reference record albums, liner notes, and the occasional swag that came with them. Beyond the music, these were a way to connect with and be part of your favorite band. They were a peek into the process, the lifestyle, or simply the hype that brought them to your attention in the first place. 

I remember Joe Jackson’s Look Sharp record(s) came with a mini-pin, and the records themselves were smaller than the standard shape and size. I remember buying my sister the picture disc of Elvis Costello’s New Amsterdam when I was visiting a friend in Carbondale. The whole of the vinyl was tulips. Obviously, these details stood out, or I wouldn’t remember them decades later.

Nowadays, you can download your music, pull-up a YouTube video, and Google your favorite bands, but it’s tough to have something tactile to look at, to share with a friend. It’s easy to forget that discovery over time. It’s easy to forget the feeling you had when you first had an album on repeat for a week.

I feel the same way about bars and restaurants. Rich with emotion and inspiration, in 2020, they feel a lot like consuming music. It is collected but not tactile. It is memory-based. The feeling of walking into your favorite bar or restaurant is getting fainter by the month. The vibe—the people, the smells, the intent created, curated, cooked, and served up by your hosts—is being dulled by time and circumstances. 

Masked-up and keeping our distance to keep one another safe, it’s how we have to be right now. For restaurant owners and chefs, the takeout, to-go, and delivery methods have been a way to try and stay in business and make it through this pandemic. For bar owners, it is even more difficult in many states with safety restrictions limiting their ability to operate.

Arguably a bar and restaurant are more than its food and beverages. It is a highly emotional experience that is a collection of sensory elements all coming together to create delight in its many varied forms, which gets me to new packaging and connecting brand loyalists to what they love and remember from their favorite bars and restaurants.

I’m going to pick a local favorite as my muse for this example: Gainsbourg is a local French bistro in the Greenwood neighborhood of Seattle. It takes its name from Serge Gainsbourg, and though I’ve never interviewed the owners about the origin story of the brand, I have formed an opinion of what it’s about for myself – which is how consumers adopt brands and become loyal. “I like that; I’m like that…” 

So during the pandemic, you can order takeout, cocktail kits, or even bottles of wine to go from Gainsbourg. It’s a nice reminder of an evening there, but it doesn’t last. When the food’s gone and the bottle’s empty, the experience is over, and you are back to memory and recall to inspire your next order. 

It’s a small, cozy space that’s not perfect, but in a lovely way. The cookline just behind the bar. The cocktails are inventive, served in mismatched glassware. Music plays nonchalantly in the background, complementing a muted black-and-white film projected on the far wall. Surroundings and fellow patrons—always somehow so much cooler and more soulful than I’ve ever been—create an appeal that draws me in further with every visit.

All of these factors combine to form a rich sensory experience, seemingly impossible to replicate, particularly in one’s own home. So how, if you are Gainsbourg, do you package-up this experience and send it out the door when money is tight, and margins thin?

My answer is that it is the imperfection and patina of the space and the sensory cues of the music and film that could be added to the bag that you pick up on a Friday night. A second-hand 1960’s French postcard over-stamped with Gainsbourg’s phone and order info. A link to tonight’s playlist printed and enclosed in your bag. New-old-stock cocktail stirs.  Stickers, cut-out articles, little unexpected cultural surprises that become tactile reminders of how the brand makes you feel. Not expensive stuff. Thoughtful stuff. Imagining for your customer what they feel when they can have that on-site experience.

The same goes for bars. The Kraken Bar & Lounge in the University District of Seattle is a venue well-known for its punk rock shows and pub fare, but it will be ages before there can be live music again. What if the pulled pork sandwich to-go came with a flyer, a 45, stickers, swag, or an original drawing or photo collected over the years? A way to fill in the experience, the vibe that customers are missing in this pandemic.

Intentionally these suggestions and examples do not include items like serving ware, candles, or table linens, because who has the money to add those things to orders right now? And it’s kind of not the point. Those liner notes, photo jackets, and little bits that came in albums didn’t have any real shelf value. They had high emotional and recall value. They gave us evidence of our affiliation and participation in the music.

By including some of the “lifestyle” that goes along with memorable food and beverages, we make it easier for loyal consumers to remember the vibe and look forward to the day they can experience it on-site again.

—————

Interested in how you can keep your consumers connected to your brand? Reach out to Peter & his team at hello@mg2.com.