市场情报/技术

我的头在(点)云中

2016年5月5日/ Mike Knoff

MG2如何使用3D激光扫描以难以想象的方式揭示建筑关系,更不用说测量了。

现实情况

纵观整个历史,社会已经认识到使用绘图和绘画来记录和交流时间的内在价值。技术在信息通信方面继续取得长足进步,从而大大提高了我们能够直观地描绘周围世界的速度和准确性。

随着摄影机,胶片摄影机,数码相机以及最终360度全景图像等技术的发明和普及,人们越来越被人工复制和分享自己的瞬间的想法所迷住,不仅向他人展示他们所见证的事物从静止的有利位置出发,但是他们如何从各个角度体验这一瞬间。

他们的着迷是有道理的,因为最近 虚拟现实的进步 允许创建完全身临其境的环境,使用户现在可以以越来越逼真的方式在空间中移动。一种使虚拟现实变得更加相关和可访问的技术,尤其是在建筑师的生活中,被称为 点云映射。

3D坐标系的XYZ

点云图是一系列相互协作的点,以形成现有空间的数字模型。建立模型背后的科学与某些动物使用回声定位在环境中导航的方式具有可比性。将3D扫描测量工具放置在固定点,并将激光ping发送到世界各地。撞击固体表面后,激光会反弹回扫描仪,并计算出返回所需的时间。然后,扫描仪在X,Y和Z平面上编辑数据,并形成能够从任何方向旋转和查看的环境图片。

汽车行业经常成为采用类似技术来促进自动驾驶汽车生存能力的头条新闻。这只是一个例子,点映射可能会极大地改变整个行业的运作方式。可以应用该技术的机会很多,其中包括一个非常适合我在MG2的工作,即建筑研究。现在,任何使用此技术的建筑师都可以高精度地构成一个完整的空间模型。在设计和使用现有建筑物时,这是宝贵的信息。

将新兴技术与我们与Costco的工作联系起来

近年来,MG2支持长期客户Costco Wholesale对业务模型迅速扩展的部门Costco业务中心的重视。尽管所有Costco会员均可使用,但与传统Costco仓库相比,这些商务中心的设计占地面积较小,并按商品进行销售,可满足本地企业的需求。

主要区别还在于,业务中心项目不是从头开始构建的。迄今为止开设的所有13个Costco商业中心都是现有仓库空间的修复项目。目前正在进行的一个此类项目涉及振兴位于旧金山的一个有70年历史的前Levitz Furniture仓库。

建筑物的原始图纸是开发施工文件的理想起点,但事实上,它们是在1956年绘制的,然后进行扫描以保留数字副本,因此难以破解关键细节。此外,随着建筑物随着时间的推移而发生变化,原始图纸上显示的许多细节也不再相关,这也增加了挑战,而且数十年来添加到建筑物中的许多新元素从未被记录下来。我们的伙伴 跨度施工提出了构想和技术,以创建现有仓库的点云图。

加速后的模型显示了用于创建点云图的激光点的进程。

Span对这项技术的采用为MG2提供了开发一套准确的工程图并节省客户资金的能力。在标准Costco商业中心翻新项目中,MG2建筑师必须亲自访问该站点,测量,记录和收集尽可能多的数据。不可避免地,将需要捕获其他度量,这需要花费更多的时间才能通过再次物理访问站点来旅行并收集丢失的数据,这是昂贵的。

通过在初始访问期间将构建点云图作为日程安排的一部分,我们不仅获得了用肉眼评估站点的经验,而且还获得了可以访问的完整而准确的数字参考。现在,MG2无需花几天时间和花费数千美元来回答问题,而是可以在短短几分钟内找到所需的信息。

例如,作为旧金山仓库项目的一部分,我们对屋顶结构的布置方式有疑问。因为有了点云图,所以我们能够在计算机屏幕上旋转建筑物并查看屋顶的下侧,从而使我们能够充分了解屋顶排水口,洒水线,灯,桁架和pur条的位置,甚至查看金属屋顶平台的各个肋骨。这些信息使我们能够快速定位和确定扫描中所有建筑元素的尺寸。

3D扫描的应用,局限性和机会

点云图的优点之一,也是缺点之一,是它与其他平台的集成能力。架构师能够轻松地将点云地图导入CAD和BIM程序,但是将点云引入这些第三方软件系统时,他们只是注册为点集群。因此,我们需要返回并创建与点云关联的任何矢量或平面。尽管此过程可能很繁琐,但使用该技术仍然比必须依赖“已建成”的工程图更为有效。

对于我们的特定目的,MG2一直在与点云分开创建图形,然后使用数据点返回并验证圆柱,墙壁,门等的位置。但是,可以推测在未来几年内,点云图将能够直接转换为实体表面模型,从而使该过程的劳动强度大大降低。

另一个改进机会涉及效率。根据建筑物的大小和复杂程度,目前需要一到两天的时间来对整个结构进行全面扫描。如果是大型建筑(例如Costco商业中心仓库),则3D扫描调查工具必须放置在整个空间的80多个不同位置,以完成数百万次单独扫描,以形成一张完整的照片。建造。

完成的扫描通常可以超过30 GB的数据。由于涉及的文件很大,一旦上传到MG2的服务器,由于大多数便携式设备的内存限制以及无线传输数据所花费的时间,我们几乎不可能通过笔记本电脑远程访问这些模型。

在点云模型中围绕固定点旋转的快照。
通过点云模型拍摄的快照,展示了建筑物的内部和外部。

点云映射的下一个发展

在不久的将来,我预计上述问题将得到解决,并且点云映射技术将在市场上变得越来越有效,负担得起并且可访问。一旦发生这种情况,它将对提高架构师能够实时验证实际生活条件的简便性和准确性产生重大影响。

与建筑实践并驾齐驱,即使是最有远见的设计也必须遵守严格的物理定律,用于记录当今数字时代时刻的方法几乎已经变得无限灵活,可作为处理无法计算的信息量的胶囊具有多个方面,并集成到有潜力的软件系统中,尚待充分实现。我们正处在历史的某个时刻,对“捕捉片刻”的含义的确切定义正在被革新。我为成为团队的一员而感到自豪,他们拥护一种使建筑师能够为客户提供整个场景的新兴技术。

Market intelligence / Technology

With my Head in the (Point) Clouds

May 2016 / By Mike Knoff

How MG2 is using 3D laser scanning to reveal building relationships in ways difficult to imagine, let alone measure.

Reality of the Situation

Throughout history, societies have recognized the inherent value of using drawings and paintings to document and communicate moments in time. Technology has continued to make great strides in information communication, resulting in significant increases in the speed and accuracy with which we are able to visually depict the world around us.

With the invention and proliferation of technologies such as camera obscura, film cameras, digital cameras and eventually 360-degree panoramic images, people have become ever more enamored by the idea of artificially replicating and sharing their individual moments, showing others not only what they witnessed from a stationary vantage point, but how they experienced the moment from every angle conceivable.

Their fascination is justified, as the recent advancements in virtual reality have allowed for the creation of fully immersive environments where users can now move through spaces in an increasingly lifelike fashion. One technology that is making virtual reality more relevant and accessible, especially in the lives of architects, is known as point cloud mapping.

The XYZ’s of 3D Coordinate Systems

Point cloud maps are a series of individual dots that work together to form a digital model of an existing space. The science behind how the model is created is comparable to the way certain animals use echo-location to navigate through environments. A 3D scanning survey tool is placed at a fixed point and sends laser pings out into the world. Upon striking a solid surface, the lasers rebound back to the scanner, and the time it takes for them to return is calculated. The scanner then compiles the data in the X, Y and Z planes and forms a picture of the environment capable of being rotated and viewed from any direction.

The automobile industry often makes headlines for a similar technology being used to foster the viability of self-driving cars. This is but one example where point mapping could dramatically alter how an entire industry operates. There are endless opportunities in which the technology can be applied, including one that is extremely applicable to my work at MG2, architectural investigation. Any architect with access to this technology can now compose a comprehensive model of a space with a high-degree of precision. This is invaluable information when designing and working with an existing building.

Connecting the Dots Between an Emerging Technology and our Work with Costco

In recent years, MG2 has supported long-time client Costco Wholesale’s increased emphasis on a rapidly expanding division of its business model, the Costco business center. Although open to all Costco members, in comparison to the traditional Costco warehouse, these business centers are designed with a smaller footprint and merchandised with products to serve the needs of local businesses.

A major difference also exists in that business center projects are not built from the ground-up. All 13 Costco business centers opened thus far have been rehabilitation projects of existing warehouse spaces. One such project, currently in progress, involves the revitalization of a 70-year-old former Levitz Furniture warehouse located in San Francisco.

The original drawings of the building were an excellent starting point for developing construction documents, but the fact they were drawn in 1956 and then scanned to retain digital copies made it incredibly difficult to decipher crucial details. Also adding to the challenge, many of the details shown on the original drawings were no longer relevant as the building has changed over time, and many of the new elements added to the building throughout the decades failed to ever be documented. Our partner, Span Construction, brought forth the idea and the technology to create a point cloud map of the existing warehouse.

A sped up model showing the progression of laser points used to create a point cloud map.

Span’s adoption of the technology has been instrumental in providing MG2 the ability to develop a set of accurate working drawings and save our client money. In a standard Costco business center renovation project, MG2 architects must visit the site in-person, measuring, documenting and gathering as much data as possible. Inevitably, additional measurements will need to be captured, requiring added days to travel and gather the missing data by physically visiting the site again, which is costly.

By including the building of a point cloud map as part of the schedule during our initial site visit, not only do we get the experience of assessing the site with our own eyes, we also gain a complete and accurate digital reference we can access moving forward. Instead of taking days and spending thousands of dollars to answer a question, MG2 can now find the required information in mere minutes.

For instance, as part of the San Francisco warehouse project, we had questions about how the roof structure was laid out. Because we had the point cloud map, we were able to spin the building around on our computer screens and take a look at the underside of the roof, enabling us to fully understand the placement of roof drains, sprinkler lines, lights, trusses, purlins, and even view the individual ribs of the metal roof deck. This information allowed us to quickly locate and dimension all building elements within the scan.

Applications, Limitations and Opportunities for 3D Scanning

One of the benefits, and also one of the downfalls, of the point cloud map is its integration capabilities with other platforms. Architects are able to easily import point cloud maps into CAD and BIM programs, but when introducing the point cloud into these third-party software systems, they simply register as a cluster of points. Thus we are required to go back through and create any vectors or planes that are associated with the point cloud. Although this process can be tedious, using this technology is still much more efficient than having to rely on “as-built” drawings.

For our specific purposes, MG2 has been creating drawings separately from the point cloud and then using the data points to go back and verify locations of columns, walls, doors, etc. One can speculate over the next few years however, point cloud maps will be able to directly translate into solid surface models, making the process a lot less labor intensive.

Another opportunity for improvement involves efficiency. Depending on the size and complexity of the building, it presently takes between one to two days to fully scan the entire structure. In the case of a large building, such as a Costco business center warehouse, the 3D scanning survey tool must be placed in more than 80 different locations throughout the space in order to complete the millions of individual scans necessary to develop a full picture of the building.

This finished scan can often exceed 30 GB of data. Due to the massive file sizes involved, once uploaded to MG2’s server, our ability to access these models remotely via laptops is nearly impossible due to the memory limitations of most portable devices and the immense time it would take to transmit the data wirelessly.

Snapshot rotating around a fixed point in a point cloud model.
Snapshot flying through point cloud model showcasing both interior and exterior of building.

The Next Evolution of Point Cloud Mapping

In the not too distant future, I envision the aforementioned issues being resolved and point cloud mapping technology becoming increasingly effective, affordable and accessible within the marketplace. Once that occurs, it will have major implications on the field of architecture in terms of boosting the ease and accuracy in which architects are able to verify real life conditions in real time.

In juxtaposition to the practice of architecture, where even the most visionary designs must adhere to the rigid laws of physics, the methods being used to document moments in today’s digital age have become almost infinitely flexible, serving as capsules for incalculable volumes of information, operating in multiple dimensions and integrating into software systems with potentials yet to be fully realized. We are at a point in history where the very definition of what it means to “capture a moment” is being revolutionized. I’m proud to be a part of team embracing an emerging technology that enables architects to give clients the entire picture.