社区环境

费尔蒙奥林匹克酒店

The Fairmont Olympic Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Reception Desk

通过现代视角反映遗产

费尔蒙奥林匹克酒店(Fairmont Olympic)最初于1924年开放,是西雅图最古老,历史最悠久的建筑之一。作为纽约市的主要酒店经营者和国家历史古迹注册机构的成员,它接待了从约翰·列侬(John Lennon)到特迪·罗斯福(Teddy Roosevelt)总统等数十位精英。

当费尔蒙奥林匹克(Fairmont Olympic)着手进行一项旨在将现代优雅与经典永恒融合在一起的修复项目时,他们知道他们需要一支具有深刻理解力的团队,并努力保持空间的每一英寸遗产,细节和遗产,同时保持高雅品味。提升他们已经完善的经验。

MG2由来自波士顿和巴塞罗那的两个设计团队手工选拔,被选为该项目的记录架构师,被任命负责协调精致的恢复计划,并监督代码执行,城市流程,设计审查,执行和最终交付的处理。

MG2在浏览ADA法规的同时,还保留了复古饰面,固定装置,地板和木制品的完整性,并由三个设计团队,总承包商和众多城市利益相关者进行了全球统一的协作。

在整个项目中,MG2在响应和应对现场挑战方面发挥了关键作用,为几个复杂的细节提供了选项和设计解决方案,这些细节共同作用以提高期望结果的特征和完整性。

The Olympic Bar Seattle WA

善意的恢复

我们团队在主大厅的探索揭开了原始的华丽石灰华地板的面纱。由于有可能成为该空间的亮点,我们建议对其进行保存和恢复其原有的荣耀,并采取其他措施,通过现代的修补工艺来确保ADA的合规性,从而减少滑倒的危险。

费尔蒙奥林匹克酒店(Fairmont Olympic Hotel)是一个复杂的迷宫,由许多楼层和夹层楼组成,在项目开始时,以后的客人和访客都不容易到达。

MG2采用创新的解决方案,精心设计了全新的ADA升降机和坡道,以补充新的和历史的特征,提供无缝的可访问性,而不会增加对环境的负面影响。

The Fairmont Olympic Bar

为将来的回忆打下基础

大楼梯的设计经过了改进,旨在为现有的水磨石注入新的生命。 Fairmont有了一个附加功能,那就是机会:不再只是楼梯,上升已经成为一种存在,一个Instagram时刻,也是故事的一部分。

最后,我们的设计师花了几个月的时间在整个酒店中研究和研究遗留物,他们提供了替代性的设计细节,以翻新和维护整个空间中现有的历史悠久的栏杆。我们的目的是保留与工匠合作时已经存在的东西,为原始的栏杆增加复杂的细节和新的生活。

每个方面都齐心协力,并与两家合作伙伴公司带来的惊人室内设计以及我们的施工团队带来的精确度结合在一起。经过精心设计的联盟产生了令人惊叹的翻新设计,既反映了历史文化又反映了现代社区,这为费尔蒙奥林匹克运动会带来了一个新时代,尽管它仍然深陷历史,却散发出现代奢华气息。

The Fairmont Olympic was recently named a finalist in NAIOP’s 2021 Night of the Stars for “Historic Renovation of the Year”, as well as a finalist in GRAY Magazine’s 2021 Design Awards for “Interior Design”.

Community Environments

Fairmont Olympic Hotel

The Fairmont Olympic Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Reception Desk

Reflecting legacy through a modern lens

Originally opened in 1924, the Fairmont Olympic is one of the oldest, most historic buildings in Seattle. As the city’s premier hotelier and a member of the National Registrar of Historic Places, it has hosted dozens of elites throughout history, from John Lennon to President Teddy Roosevelt.

When the Fairmont Olympic embarked on a restoration project with the goal of fusing modern elegance with classic timelessness, they knew they’d need a team who deeply understood and would work to preserve every inch of the space’s heritage, detail, and legacy, while tastefully elevating their already refined experience.

With two design teams hand-selected from Boston and Barcelona, MG2 was brought on as the project’s Architect of Record, appointed to orchestrate the delicate restoration program and oversee the handling of code enforcement, city processes, design reviews, execution, and final delivery.

Simultaneously navigating ADA regulations and preserving the integrity of vintage finishes, fixtures, flooring, and woodwork, MG2 conducted the unified global collaboration of the three design teams, a general contractor, and numerous city-wide stakeholders.

Throughout the project, MG2 was pivotal in responding to and addressing on-site challenges, providing options and design solutions for several intricate details that came together to elevate the character and integrity of the desired results.

The Olympic Bar Seattle WA

The restoration of bona fide beauty

Our team’s exploration in the main lobby unveiled the original, stunningly ornate travertine flooring. With the potential to be a show-stopping feature of the space, we recommended that it be preserved and restored to its original glory and took additional measures to ensure ADA compliance through a modern refinishing process, reducing slipping hazards.

The Fairmont Olympic Hotel is a complex labyrinth comprised of numerous floors and mezzanine levels, which at the onset of the project were not easily accessible to future guests and visitors.

Employing creative solutions, MG2 designed all-new ADA lifts and ramps meticulously crafted to complement new and historical features, providing seamless accessibility without adding negative sightlines to the environment.

The Fairmont Olympic Bar

Setting the stage for future memories

The design of the grand staircase was evolved in an effort to breathe new life into the existing terrazzo. It became an opportunity for the Fairmont to have an additional, feature: No longer just a staircase, the ascent has become a presence, an Instagrammable moment, and part of the story.

Finally, our designers—who spent months surrounded by and studying the legacy work throughout the hotel—provided alternative design details to renovate and maintain the existing historic railings throughout the spaces. Our intent was to preserve what already existed while working with craftsmen to add intricate detail and new life to the original banisters.

Each of these facets came together and joined forces with the stunning interior designs brought forth by our two partner firms and the precision brought forth by our construction team. The choreographed alliance resulted in a stunning renovation design—reflective of both historical culture and modern community—that has brought about a new era for the Fairmont Olympic, one that, while still steeped in history, emanates modern luxury.

The Fairmont Olympic was recently named a finalist in NAIOP’s 2021 Night of the Stars for “Historic Renovation of the Year”, as well as a finalist in GRAY Magazine’s 2021 Design Awards for “Interior Design”.